Your Nearest Exit

catshenanigans.tumblr.com

It’s funny how when happy where we are, we never think to look for an escape; an out that will bring us to freedom.

When on a plane, about to embark on a new journey, like everyone else, I patiently and quietly wait while the Flight Attendant motions to the nearest exit located closest to my seat. The same happens when I am in the theater. Each and every time, it is told to me that an exit rests on either side of the room, and one in the back. I listen, without listening. But there is always someone who asks for the Attendant to motion for a second time where they need to go, if things go wrong.

I suppose if I were looking for a way out, I too would have a piqued ear when the available exits are shown. But never once while happy where I am, do I make a point to ensure there’s a door offering my safe retreat.

When all seems well, one’s attention toward an escape reveals their feelings regarding the moment. I sat next to someone once during a play; their movements, fidgets and glances at their watch showed their desire to be anywhere but there. I’ve also had a person at a dinner party reveal through peppered words and body movements that they wanted to leave. The body and words spoken, are all codes to one’s true feelings. Even when everything seems wonderful, once a guest asks for me to show them the way in which to leave, I make a point to also hand them their coat. Their question reveals their desire.

I have to wonder what my body language and the words I speak and write reveal. They are so incredibly singular depending upon with whom I am speaking. I tend to be a bit more direct than most. I know this also shines through my writing. But if you were to speak with me, you’d notice, my spoken words are just the same. I write in the same manner in which I speak.

Sometimes though, words and body language reveal that one wants to stay. They linger, long before all else have gone. Not only are they not looking for a possible escape, they are hoping to never be shown the escape. They know that should disaster strike, they will look with wide eyes and find their way to safety. But in the meantime, their thoughts, their words and their body want only to remain. We all know how to read these codes; these sentences that are camouflaged to hide their meaning. I say once your eye searches for the exit, then its time to go. But if you find yourself hoping a way out doesn’t exist, then please, by all means, stay.

Leave a Reply

