Its Hard To Dance With The Devil On Your Back

photosofoldamerica.com

If only we could look in the mirror and see, with clarity, the demons we carry upon our back. Regret is never weightless, and never without form, even if invisible.

I believe we can’t move forward, toward that which we desire, when tethered to the past. Whether unfilled dreams, or the realization that we should’ve turned left instead of right, those miscalculations happened for a reason. Like transparent, sharp-edged rocks, they now exist. It is up to us as to whether we allow the past to overshadow us and stunt our growth. If we move our steps further back, those painful and heavy monuments are seen in a different light. There is a purpose there, hidden within their size.

When we shed the fear, the regret and the sadness of all that has gone wrong – we open ourselves to what is ahead. Once our vision is no longer obstructed, things are shown to us, that we wouldn’t have seen or recognized otherwise.

Possibility lives only in the future. Other than the way our memories have a way of reshaping the past, there is no way to undo what has been done. Failure is relative, at best. Often, once we cut the strings that tie us tightly to all that should’ve been, are we able to grasp what is supposed to be. Every regret, every failure or block of self-doubt is either a weight by which we are pulled underground or if overcome, provides the stepping-stones that lift us up and over. And once there, our feet standing on the precipice of a new day, a new life and a new dream – our future is seen with a broader perspective; gained only from the incline we were forced to walk.

Reaching the summit is easier when done with weightless and wiser steps. It is best to shake off all that isn’t meant to be. And in the end, stand with open arms and embrace all that life has to offer; no longer sitting in silence with our demons. Instead, we dance on the vast cliff of possibility.


Shake It Off – Florence and the Machine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbN0nX61rIs

Regrets collect like old friends

Here to relive your darkest moments

I can see no way, I can see no way

And all of the ghouls come out to play

And every demon wants his pound of flesh

But I like to keep some things to myself

I like to keep my issues drawn

It’s always darkest before the dawn

 

And I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind

I can never leave the past behind

I can see no way, I can see no way

I’m always dragging that horse around

And our love is pastured such a mournful sound

Tonight I’m gonna bury that horse in the ground

So I like to keep my issues drawn

But it’s always darkest before the dawn

 

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back

So shake him off, oh woah

 

I am done with my graceless heart

So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart

Cause I like to keep my issues drawn

It’s always darkest before the dawn

 

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back

So shake him off, oh woah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back so shake him off

 

And given half the chance would I take any of it back

It’s a fine romance but its left me so undone

It’s always darkest before the dawn

 

Oh woah, oh woah…

 

And I’m damned if I do and I’m damned if I don’t

So here’s to drinks in the dark at the end of my road

And I’m ready to suffer and I’m ready to hope

It’s a shot in the dark and right at my throat

Cause looking for heaven, found the devil in me

Looking for heaven, found the devil in me

Well what the hell I’m gonna let it happen to me

 

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back

So shake him off, oh woah

 

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back

So shake him off…

Leave a Reply

