Taking Your Hand

So here I sit, with a glass of wine and full mind. Soft thoughts. Nothing sharp or upsetting. But enough to warrant my attention.

I don’t like to group people into an easily replicated form, as each is an individual. We are not all the same. Far from it. But one thing we all share – is a mind. It is the place for which I spend most of my time. It is the place within others that I want most to explore. This frightens some, enthralls others.

Although the way we look at the world, process emotions and ponder thoughts differs from person to person; everyone does all three. As a writer I’m allowed access into your mind. Often, I’m allowed access into your heart. One statement can prick at the heart, resurrect a smothered memory or provide the gust of air that ignites a dying flame – all within the mind.

When I weave a tale, or express these simple thoughts held within these posts, I do so by taking your hand. And with gliding steps I pull us through the narrow passageways of a dimly lit forest until we reach the meadow; rich with color and life. Life, they say, is a journey and my job is to take you there.

When we take the time to step into life, we expand our understanding, our knowledge and our beauty. Whether are footsteps have taken us to the shore, where we feel the magnetic rhythm of the earth pull against our feet as the ocean inhales and exhales. Or we are nestled at the base of a tree upon the forest floor, cradled within the hands of nature. It is there for us to discover. The same is true within the mind. And that is where I am your guide. My job is to take your timid hand and traverse the undiscovered areas within yourself. I do this first, by walking us through the many layers within me.

There is a reason why we have so many great emotions, receptors to all that life has to offer. Like light switches along the wall in a darkened room, they are there to be flipped – thereby letting you see something you wouldn’t otherwise. I want to help you see happiness and pain, because within all rests life at its fullest. Love at its most intense, yet divine. Passion that makes the body surrender. Fears that make it hard to move forward. Dreams that are painful due to their magnitude and beauty. Let’s go there together. We will emerge – safely – on the other side. And we will be made better due to the journey.

So thank you for taking my hand. Most of all, thank you for allowing me to whisper softly inside your mind. It’s an intimate thing, you see. But I have to say, there’s no place I would rather be.

And thank you Queencheckmate for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award.

Sane

Leave a Reply

