Individual Distinction

I have never had the desire for normalcy, not in the sense of being like the rest. This made for an odd-fitting youth. But as I aged, I realized there was nothing to be gained by being a close facsimile to someone else. We all have the ability to stand out. But few are those that move their feet away from the crowd.

I have an interview tomorrow in which I will discuss my children’s book series. More importantly, I will discuss how to raise a confident child. I wasn’t confident when young. I clawed my way toward self acceptance. Let’s just say I have strong arms now. Many of us come about it in that way, but it needn’t be. So if I can help even one child, I will.

When we stand alone, unique in our presence, our beauty, our very way of being, we tend to think we are flawed. And there will be many that will contribute to that belief, if allowed.

I could easily say: Love yourself, accept yourself, you aren’t different. But that is too simplistic and not necessarily the truth. We are all a bit different. But many do not have the courage to allow that which is within and sets us apart to shine through. Instead, we work hard to become a vanilla-bland, homogenized version of everyone else. No good can come of that. To deny oneself is the worst crime imaginable. And one that will haunt us till our final days.

Individual distinction; actors build careers from being it, writers depend upon it, artists seek it out.

Better to realize that rarely is a movie fascinating to watch, a book thrilling to read, if the lead character isn’t also unique. As a writer, we build our careers from gleaning the stand out’s from the crowd, and telling their story. My children’s books center around a girl who faces the challenges of being different. My novels parallel my own world, and we all know that I am not quite like the rest. But who should want such a thing. I don’t. I know when I buy a painting, I only do so because it is truly different in its beauty. Our eyes scan over that which is alike, but stop when viewing something unique.

We work hard to become cookie cutter humans, and yet I don’t feel that was ever our intent. If so, our finger prints would be alike. No. We are all given unique characteristics both inside and out. We either cover them up, or we let them stand on their own. The one may help to ensure less challenges and ridicule, but the latter brings the greater reward.

If I could say anything to every child out there it would be that nothing is better than standing a bit left of center. Those whom you will find there are the best of the lot. And not only is there more elbow room, the view is spectacular.

Sane

2 thoughts on “Individual Distinction

  1. iamforchange

    I love your pages and your form of self-expression, it is a pleasure to have you share your gifts through your pages Thank you. I have nominated you for blog of the Year please visit my page Blog of the year awards and nominations Thank you! Revised
    Posted on December 9, 2012

    Reply
    1. SaneSamantha Post author

      Well thank you kindly! Thank you kindly, indeed! You like lil’ ol’ me?! Listen to me. I’m feisty today.

      In all seriousness, I do so appreciate being nominated. To think that I have impacted one person, means the world to me – more than most would realize.

      So thank you again, my friend ~ S.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

