Baking a Cake

Waiting is not something many of us are naturally obliged to do. Instead, it grates at us in way like no other. More than that, it can cause us to doubt ourself, and the power behind our ability to shape our future. It can even cause us to doubt that fate is a cooperate force, allowing for our say in anything. Waiting for many of us, is our Achilles heel.

But for a moment, please look at waiting as part of the plan, and not an impediment to the plan. Please do yourself this great favor and look at the making of your desires and future similar to the way one makes a cake. First comes the idea to make something. Usually this is brought on by noticing the absence of this something from one’s life. We damn these moments in time when we feel lack, and yet those moment are the very things that cause us to identify that which we desire. Once identified, we now need to move forward.

Due to knowing what we don’t want, we set off to imagine that which we do. We scan the world around us deciding what ingredients we want and what ingredients we do not. In our mind we begin to put together the recipe for our desire. We aren’t going to add ginger this time around because our experience with ginger in the past has shown us that it was terrible to our tongue. Ginger is out. Nutmeg is in. It’s a process.

The recipe for our desires is much the same. By being married to the wrong partner it was shown to us what we want in the right partner. By working a job that did not feel right it was shown to us the possible avenues that may feel right. By living in the cold we were given the chance to fully understand that we want only to live in the warmth. This happens on a small scale. This happens on a large scale. But it never stops happening. Not only do we walk through the contrast, the contrast is all around us. And so the process continues.

We let our desires settle into our being just the same as we place the batter-filled pan in the oven. Our work is done, we feel. But I don’t believe that is the case at all. Waiting is part of the work. We must be faithful while the cake bakes. And each and every time we doubt that its working, we cause a delay. We open the oven door repeatedly causing the oven temperature to plummet. And sometimes when panic sets in we take the cake pan out of the oven completely. We question what we did wrong. We question if the oven is working. We question everything. Our job is to keep the oven temperature steady and strong. We do this by having faith.  Keep the door closed, and know that its working.

Faith is the fuel that causes the cake to bake. So keep the faith burning.

Sane

6 thoughts on “Baking a Cake

  1. Megan

    I don’t know how you do it, but lately every entry you post is in sync with what’s going on in my life. I was so down in the dumps this evening thinking about my life. I’ve been working hard at making a change and opening myself up to all of these new desires and dreams for myself. Everything was going well for awhile, and now I’m having stress upon stress piling on me: money issues, family issues, work issues. I’ve been practicing yoga and meditation to help me deal with my stress, but I’ve also been wanting and desiring my dreams for far too long, and not letting go but instead have been worrying about why they’re taking so long to get to me. I’m 37 and freaked out this evening about being single, about my biological clock ticking, about not being in a meaningful relationship, about worrying if my old house will ever sell so I can finally feel comfortable in my new house, about worrying about teaching a new class this semester, about a health issue that has recently popped up. I couldn’t quite seem to realize that this special space (i.e., my new home) that I bought recently is so large, open and inviting and ready to welcome a good man when he appears and that this time in my life is a chance to really honor my body and practice yoga and honor my alone time and find peace and happiness in solitude so I am a happy, healthy, grateful person when all my wants, desires, dreams do show up in my life. I need to stop opening up the oven and checking in on the cake! I need to trust that it is all baking and the timer will go off and I can take it out and enjoy a slice when the moment is right, not before and not too late. Learning to trust in the Universe and a supreme intelligence is scary at first because I’ve been conditioned for far too long to keep checking in on my life and reworking it and delaying it b/c I’m scared I didn’t get the details right. I love reading your writing as it is always an “aha” moment for me or a chance to get back on my path and let the “obstacle illusions” I have created in my mind fade away and get back to letting go and going with the flow. Namaste, my writer friend. I’m grateful to have encountered your wise words (and this cake metaphor is fantastic, by the way! Kudos!).

    -Megan

    Reply
    1. SaneSamantha Post author

      I am pleased to hear that my timing is part of your unfolding; the tick of the timer that reminds you that all is still working. We are all in this together, and my readers would be surprised by how many times they have given me the confirmation I needed. So with that I will say both you are welcome, Megan and thank you. Love and best ~ S.

      Reply
  2. mjthecreator

    wow my name is megan too, and this post couldn’t have come at a better time. things are actually kind of awesome but sometimes i believe they suck since i have literally no idea what the future holds, and my life is going through a lot of changes right now. trying to remember its exciting when i get those gnawing aches and question everything and realize it’s all part of the process. Trust is a necessary ingredient!

    Reply
    1. SaneSamantha Post author

      Yes, how nice a functioning crystal ball would be. And yet, I feel that crystal ball does exist and it lets you know the essence of what the future holds by virtue of what you believe and how that belief makes you feel. Love to you ~ S.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

